P is for Play

Pavlov's CatYou used to know how to play. As a child, you were good at it. Maybe you’ve forgotten how. It takes practice to remember. I paint pictures to play. I used to do watercolor portraits for money, but when it became work instead of play I decided to take a break.

Now counseling is my work, and painting is my play. Everyone’s play is different. Watch children when they are playing. Really watch. See the abandon! The thing about children is they don’t have to abandon anything to play—they are just being themselves. Do you remember how you felt as a child in your free unselfconscious self –when all space and time was obliterated by the thrill of just being?

I remember playing caveman, painting hieroglyphics in red mud on the walls of a our cave–a piece of plywood leaned up against the house at my great friend Mary’s house.

Humor is play, isn’t it?

It’s a pretty happy thing to keep close.  You may become quite dour and sour if you lose it, especially when it comes to yourself.

It helps to have a brother. My brother Bob refuses to allow me to take myself seriously at all; he calls my counseling business, which I named Second Wind Professional Counseling, “Breaking Wind Professional Counseling!!”

How do you play?  Who in your life encourages you to play and not take yourself too seriously?

Author: Margaret Huntley Harrison

I’m a painter using my gifts to transform the seemingly ordinary into the beautiful and extraordinary. What I love more than anything is tracking down, creating, and spreading the beauty in our amazing world! And I LOVE helping you find and spread your beauty into your home, your family and your world. Art for sale: fineartamerica.com Margaret Huntley Harrison

Leave a Reply

