Q is for Quiet and Quantum

10430501_271282859724607_5572714341408746137_nYou can just hear the quiet gazing at this genuis drawing by the great Michael Leunig!

I love the quiet. So quiet that I can hear the faint rumble of the cars.

So quiet that I can hear the comforting hum in my ears.

So quiet that I can hear the reassuring little sounds that my fingers make when I type these words,

So quiet that I can hear the faint roaring hum of the heat pump coming on.

So quiet that I can hear the Carolina Wren far in the distance.

So quiet that I just heard the faintest gurgle in my tummy.

So so quiet here.

Before I was this quiet my mind was working very hard thinking about a Q word to write about. And just on a quirky whim I decided to google Quantum. I arrived here:  https://www.pa.msu.edu/courses/2000fall/PHY232/lectures/quantum/quantum_def.html

This is a direct quote from this site.:

What is quantum physics?

The word quantum refers to discreteness, i.e., the existence of individual “lumps” as opposed to a continuum. In Newtonian physics, all quantities are allowed to be continuous. For instance, particles can have any momentum and light can have any frequency. A quantum is a discrete packet of energy, charge, or any other quantity. For instance, one might say that electric charge is quantized in units of e=1.602e-19 C. (Or in the case of quarks, units of e/3.)

In the next few pages, we will discuss the fact that all exchanges of energy come in discrete amounts. For instance, when light is absorbed by some material, the energy of the material does not rise continuously, but in discrete jumps. Each jump occurs when the material absorbs a single quantum of light. We will also learn that energy levels (“orbits”) of an electron in an atom do not have a continuous range of possible energies, but instead that only discrete “orbits” are possible. This strange behavior is linked to the concept of wave-particle duality. We will see that particles can be described by wave functions that tell the probability of finding the particle.

Newtonian physics vs. Quantum physics–weighty subjects indeed.

So in the Quiet of a Monday morning listening to quiet of the tiny sounds around me, I think I learned something.  We use the term “quantum leap”. I think I learned that every change is a quantum leap: in other words it happens not continuously and smoothly as Newton postured but quirkily quakey bumps and leaps that are totally unpredictable.

You know counseling has a lot to do with quantum physics. The tiniest change in your thoughts or habits can set off amazing change in the force fields around you. I preach this in my quirky way constantly. Just a little tiny change is a quantum leap.

I’m just quietly pondering quantum physics this morning.

If anyone knows something they would quietly (or otherwise) want to contribute to this quirky quest, please do so NOW. 😉

Author: Margaret Huntley Harrison

I’m a painter using my gifts to transform the seemingly ordinary into the beautiful and extraordinary. What I love more than anything is tracking down, creating, and spreading the beauty in our amazing world! And I LOVE helping you find and spread your beauty into your home, your family and your world. Art for sale: fineartamerica.com Margaret Huntley Harrison

2 thoughts on “Q is for Quiet and Quantum”

Leave a Reply

