R is for Remembering

not my circusI remember that my Grandmother whom I adored, and who regularly referred to me as her angel, made the observation on at least one occasion that I can remember, (when I was 8 or 9 and doing an interpretive dance for her in her living room), that I was obstreperous.

She said it in the sweetest most observational kind of way, and I took it as the high compliment that I thought surely it must have been.

Later in my 30’s when I heard the word in another context. I looked it up and was confused and then amused at what my Bamber (my baby name for grandmother that stuck) was saying about me.

You see according to Google, synonyms for obstreperous are unRuly, unmanageable, disoRderly, undisciplined, uncontRollable, Rowdy, disRuptive, tRuculent, difficult, refRactory, Rebellious, mutinous, Riotous, out of contRol, wild, tuRbulent, upRoaRious, boisteRous; noisy, loud, clamoRous, Raucous, vocifeRous; infoRmal, and Rambunctious.

There are ways to take off from this tiny story about my Bamber and me:

I could go with something about tone of voice and delivery being so important in communication.

Or how much of an obstreperous challenger I have been to my life–rarely taking the easy way–often fighting the current.

Or how wonderfully salvational it was to have someone in my life who accepted me unconditionally, and was way past the point of reacting to boisterous energy in any way other than detached amusement.

Or how unstable my self image must have been as a child–I was the savior for my father, competition for my mother, and a purely angelic, obstreperous entertainer for my Bamber.

Or how much I am enjoying this phase of my life when I can observationally detach from boisterous, even disruptive energy with a quiet knowing and peace that all is well . . . most of the time. 😉

Author: Margaret Huntley Harrison

I’m a painter using my gifts to transform the seemingly ordinary into the beautiful and extraordinary. What I love more than anything is tracking down, creating, and spreading the beauty in our amazing world! And I LOVE helping you find and spread your beauty into your home, your family and your world. Art for sale: fineartamerica.com Margaret Huntley Harrison

2 thoughts on “R is for Remembering”

  1. I LOVE this comment. I loved Bamber too, as of course you know. She may have even called me obstreperous when I was a little boy; I hope so. Bob-Bob

Leave a Reply

