S is for Sell, Simple and Sensational

Piglet, How to you spell love, Pooh, You don't spell it you feel itS is for Sell.

So I decide yesterday that I just can’t put off dust mite removal any longer. It’s either pay the mattress people or pay the doctor for killing the dust mites in my nose.  So using my uncommon common sense, I’ve made an executive decision (Have I told you how MUCH I love making executive decisions? But that’s another circus, another story.) Back to the mattress story:

So I went down to one of the shopping strips near Hanes Mall. There are dozens of mattress stores in Winston–actually I think there may be hundreds–literally or for sure figuratively-one on every corner!

So I pick one of the mattress stores because of the easy access in and out. I had done my research so I knew I wanted to buy at Simmons Beautyrest with a pillow top.

I go in the store and a super friendly guy comes up to me and I tell him what I’m looking for.  He points one out for 2700 but says they have to move it out quickly because it is last years model and they are making room for this years model!

I actually see them bringing in new mattresses. So I think this is not just a line.

I told him I had seen an equivalent mattress online for 1100 at US Mattress Co.

So he adroitly drops the price to 1,000 and sells me a  dust mite cover and one of their specialty pillows which has been reduced, of course.

He was an amazing salesman, perky blue eyes, about 45, very engaging.

I told him he was an amazing salesman.  I have been trying to manifest salesmen in my life: But that’s another circus, another story. The salesman said he’d only been doing it for 3 months–that he was an injured Firefighter–He showed me the impressive scar on his right arm–he said he had PTSD from the terrible fire he was in.

I just kept saying what an amazing salesman he was ; I didn’t feel that revulsion thing you get sometimes when someone tries to “sell” you on something.

As he was writing up the tickets, his two compadres were helping and listening in. I shared with them what I did for a living–that I had just written a book and that I also did art and that I was looking for someone to help me sell all the stuff I’ve made.

All three guys were thoroughly engaged in the conversation by now and were all bantering about mattresses, selling, and fire fighiting. One the compadres pops out with: “YOU can do it! There’s nothing to sales–you just make a friend.”

Wow.  That’s all?  MAKE A FRIEND?  That’s beautiful. It’s simple. Make a friend. I don’t have to sell my book! I just make friends.

I make friends with clients every day at work.

Anyway, back to the story: the amazing salesman walked me out to my car and kept befriending me the whole time, engaging me playfully: “Do you remember what I taught you about taking care of the mattress protector?”

I responded, “Wash in cold water, no bleach.”  His face beamed with pride.

When we opened the hatch to my Escape to stash my newly purchased pillow and mattress cover, there was my box of new yellow books.

So I gave him a book. He was very excited!!

Still no selling . . . But I made a friend. Isn’t having a new friend, even if it’s just for that moment–the most Sensational thing?!!!!!

Author: Margaret Huntley Harrison

I’m a painter using my gifts to transform the seemingly ordinary into the beautiful and extraordinary. What I love more than anything is tracking down, creating, and spreading the beauty in our amazing world! And I LOVE helping you find and spread your beauty into your home, your family and your world. Art for sale: fineartamerica.com Margaret Huntley Harrison

Leave a Reply

