Y is for “You know You’re old when . . .” and Youth

Kaleidescope Life
Kaleidescope Life

One of the things that makes me feel better when I’m down or “Eeyoreish” is clearing space and getting rid of stuff.

I was feeling that way the other day so I decided to take some old files to be shredded. I also made a stop at the Edward McKay used book store with a load of books to recycle, get store credit or cold hard cash.  This my first time so I had no idea how it worked.

I hauled my 2 trash bags full of books into Edward McKay, went through a bunch of silly steps and rigamarole that I’m sure make sense to someone.

At the end of the process, they pronounced all my books unacceptable for store credit OR cash.  I couldn’t even donate them!

They said they were too old!!

Now that’s hilarious because that’s exactly what I was feeling Eeyoreish about–being too old!!  Luckily I had planned a pedicure as my next stop . . . to mitigate the Eeyore feeling.

Seth Godin has written the perfect little book–V is for Vulnerable– to encourage me when I am feeling Eeyoreish.  Today, I am grateful for his Y entry:

“Y is for youth: ‘Youth isn’t a number, it’s an attitude. so many disruptive artists have been youngsters, even the old ones. Art isn’t a genetic or chronological destiny, it’s a choice, open to anyone willing to trade pain in exchange for magic.'”

I like to think that Seth Godin’s page was written for me because I love the magic so much!!  And if you believe, like I do, that your soul/spirit lives forever after this life, I’m actually very young.  So there Edward McKay!

Author: Margaret Huntley Harrison

I’m a painter using my gifts to transform the seemingly ordinary into the beautiful and extraordinary. What I love more than anything is tracking down, creating, and spreading the beauty in our amazing world! And I LOVE helping you find and spread your beauty into your home, your family and your world. Art for sale: fineartamerica.com Margaret Huntley Harrison

Leave a Reply

