Birds and Squirrels: Stream of Consciousness

photo-88I’ve been watching the animals all around the birdfeeder this morning. The big fat squirrel who is hoggin up all the fat fruit in the extra special deluxe bird food I got . . . the tiny, but almost getting fat chipmunk that keeps running up and down the pole trying to figure out how the squirrel makes that leap over to the tray with the “squirrel guard” on it.

And the family of brown headed nuthatches that are flitting around the cylindrical feeder on the other side of the pole–the one with the little holes and perches.DSC_0257

Oh my God!  The chipmunk just made it to the top of the squirrel guard but then looking around and not being able to crawl under the guard like the talented squirrel ran back down the pole again to nibble the squirrels leftovers on the ground.

Ok now we have the fat squirrel, a purple finch and a family of sparrows–not sure what kind–some are “immature”–that’s a not so nice sounding term for a teenage bird. 😉

I have been feeling so sorry for the chipmunk that I just now took out a handful of raisins and chunks of my almonds for his mini-feast at the bottom of the bird feeder where he hangs out.DSC_0258

Hope he finds them before the squirrel does.

I think the squirrel went to take his daily constitutional.

The chipmunk’s back but he hasn’t found the stash yet. He might be a little dim.

Now have 3 sparrows one purple finch 2 brown-headed nuthatches and one I’m not sure I can identify–maybe a female cowbird–the male has a brown head.

photo-98

So later, I let Max out and panic when he seems to be chewing on something gummy–OMG, he’s found the raisins that the dim chipmunk couldn’t find!!! Aren’t dogs allergic to raisins?  I rush out and scoop up all the rest of the almonds and raisins and pray that Max doesn’t die of raisin poisoning that day while I’m at work.  I think he only had one.

 

Author: Margaret Huntley Harrison

I’m a painter using my gifts to transform the seemingly ordinary into the beautiful and extraordinary. What I love more than anything is tracking down, creating, and spreading the beauty in our amazing world! And I LOVE helping you find and spread your beauty into your home, your family and your world. Art for sale: fineartamerica.com Margaret Huntley Harrison

Leave a Reply

