“How long does it take you to paint a painting?”

photo-20I get this question a lot. And it’s a very logical question from folks who are genuinely interested in my painting.

My answer?

With gusto, “Years, often as many as 15! Some of them have been percolating even longer than that!”

I feel mischievous when I answer this way, because of the puzzled look and pregnant pause that often ensues.

I think it’s not quite the concrete answer that folks are looking for.  I think they’re asking how many hours, days, months I am actually dipping brushes in paint and making brushstrokes on paper.

But my answer is the whole truth!

The reality is that I imagine and paint paintings in my head years before I even start to draw them:  the design, the colors I imagine–the size of the painting–the style I will use, where I would want to put it in my house after it is finished. ( I’ll write more about this another time.)

It’s so fun to paint in my head!!

So free!!

Do you know HOW beautiful the paintings are up there . . .  in my head???

Absolutely Gorgeous!!

I soooo long to replicate what I see in my mind’s eye!

I’m constanly striving for that!!

Actually I’m imagining a new series right now–painting them in my head!  Can’t wait to start staging objects and people for the photographs I will take as my first step toward concrete results–getting them from my head to the paper!

More about this later! 😉

Author: Margaret Huntley Harrison

I’m a painter using my gifts to transform the seemingly ordinary into the beautiful and extraordinary. What I love more than anything is tracking down, creating, and spreading the beauty in our amazing world! And I LOVE helping you find and spread your beauty into your home, your family and your world. Art for sale: fineartamerica.com Margaret Huntley Harrison

Leave a Reply

