How Do I decide How to Paint Something

photo-78Oooo this is hard . . . because I can think of so many wonderful ways to paint a particular subject.

Do I want to emphasize line, or color, darks and lights? (Value is the grown up word for darks and lights ), textures?

Do I want the paint to be the Queen of the painting or the subject to be the Queen?  And what do I mean by this?Gladiolas

Well there are some folks, and I have been one of them from time to time, that believe in purity of the medium.–especially with watercolor–the purity of using no opaque paint–by depicting all the whites in the painting  by leaving the paper unpainted (not such an easy thing to do)  and using lovely transparent washes one over the other to create jewelly effects.

And even within watercolor it is over whelming, do you paint loosely with lots of water and broad strokes into wet and dry paper, or tightly with small brushes onto dry paper?The Garden

And, oh my goodness, all the tools that they have now to create certain effects–do I paint a mask on the paper to preserve the parts I want to be pure white paper?  Do I pull paint off the paper with sponge type materials or add othere mediums to the watercolor like oils or alcohol or salt, or do paint solely with  paint and brushes.

You know I don’t really even have to use a brush?  I could pour the watercolor onto the paper.Countryside

How is a girl to decide what to do?

And  pastels are a whole other story:  Do I paint with them on “pastel paper”or do I use artist sandpaper?

It’s so fun to use them on artist sandpaper–ooo the way the pastel perks up on the tooth of the paper and jumps out at you with color!

You know, I think I’ll take the same simple object like a pear or an apple and paint it in many different ways with many different media and share them with you here sometime in the future . . . I think we might like that!  🙂Arbor 2

Can you guess what each of the paintings in this post are painted with? There’s one that’s especially tricky.

Next week I’ll do a big reveal of the answers. ❤

Author: Margaret Huntley Harrison

I’m a painter using my gifts to transform the seemingly ordinary into the beautiful and extraordinary. What I love more than anything is tracking down, creating, and spreading the beauty in our amazing world! And I LOVE helping you find and spread your beauty into your home, your family and your world. Art for sale: fineartamerica.com Margaret Huntley Harrison

2 thoughts on “How Do I decide How to Paint Something”

Leave a Reply

