How I decided to paint in the kitchen

DSC_0416A couple of weekends ago these juicy paints summoned me rambunctiously and I started to paint actual pictures of the thought bubble pictures in my head. I can report a full recovery from the blank canvas tizzy that I was having.

It wasn’t pretty–it wasn’t perfect, it wasn’t what I had planned, but it happened.

I knew the day before that tomorrow was the day.

So when I woke up that morning instead of my usual morning ritual of gathering myself with coffee or tea and some good thoughts for the day,   I gathered my art stuff:

Good not to leave any window of time for backing out . . .

Fortunately a friend who believes in me purchased a boat load of glass dishes DSC_0421to help encourage me to break through the sneaky resistance thought of “I don’t have enough glass dishes.”

I gathered the glass dishes, picked up my box of paints, and my glass full of brushes and pencils with blind determination as if I was beginning a rigorous hike.

Then the strangest thing I happened; I sort of “let go” and something (my heart, God, the universe?) guided me like an inner GPS to the exact spot where I wanted to paint.

Dad gum, it was the kitchen!!!

I was actually surprised and it seems quite magical, looking back on it.

I had previously cleared a huge space in my garage and had bought a big bodacious easel for painting big bodacious paintings and the garage had seemed like the only logical space big enough.

My easel was set up down there with a large table for holding the cups of paint and brushes and water,etc., a book case for holding supplies:  My plan was to paint with the garage door open of course, for light.

Now I realize I have to lug the big easel upstairs to the kitchen.  I went down, sized up the situation, and then did something I often do–called Phil. He came right over, like he usually does–wonderful Phil.

So with a little rearranging, we set up my bodacious easel somewhere between the eating table and the kitchen sink, in the lightest, friendliest room with an old fashioned double ceramic sink for washing brushes frequently and windows all around for gathering the sun and watching the birds.

And I began to paint . . . DSC_0427

DSC_0411

I’m very grateful

and happy. 🙂

Author: Margaret Huntley Harrison

I’m a painter using my gifts to transform the seemingly ordinary into the beautiful and extraordinary. What I love more than anything is tracking down, creating, and spreading the beauty in our amazing world! And I LOVE helping you find and spread your beauty into your home, your family and your world. Art for sale: fineartamerica.com Margaret Huntley Harrison

2 thoughts on “How I decided to paint in the kitchen”

Leave a Reply

