A life strung together by kitty love

I lost my sweet kitty Mo a couple of weeks ago and got to thinking, in the middle of a teary morning, about all the kitties I’ve had in my life and how my life seems to have been strung together by a winsome cord of kitty love.

There have been so many, including my sister Joy’s cat in childhood and many kitties I’ve had in my adult life and that my sons have had in childhood and in their adults lives. I think it’s easy to take them for granted because there seem to be so many and in so many places in my life.

Some 40 years ago, my then husband Alex bought me a kitty after we were married one month and were living in a one room apartment. We moved 5 or 6 times with that poor cat–Rascal–and he was super neurotic probably because of it.  Cats are very territorial and don’t do very well with moving.

So many kitties with John–When we were first together he was leary of cats, but quickly came to love them after Dewey of the famed Huey, Dewey, and Louie feral cat rescue, completely adopted him and nestled on his lap as he would work with his hands in his workshop.   

After that, John and Will saved a coal black kitty who was stuck in a tree because of it’s fat belly.  We found out a few weeks later that it was a she and she was pregnant.  Cinder had her kitties in our bike shed and I watched all of them being born except for the one that was born as I rushed to pick Will up from school–he watched with me as the last 2 were born.

John was hesitant about bringing them all in, so I asked the vet about just letting nature take it’s course and couldn’t the Mama cat keep them safe and warm in the shed and he said that most of them would die.

They lived in one of the upstairs bathrooms and learned to walk up there. We found homes for 3 and one became Will’s pet. There were so many other adopted kitties inside and out through the years.

Will and Rachel and Ben and Stephanie and Rob and Mauri all have kitties.  I think I cried more than Rob and Mauri did when their wonderful cat Monroe died–he was special–one of those lovely Siamese kind that are super affectionate just like dogs.  I even wrote a poem about him and sent it to them to read at his “service”–very emotional and I felt a little silly afterwards–being so emotional . . .

Below is Bob (a watercolor of mine) who was an awesome if not slightly neurotic gorgeous long haired cat.  He adopted us.  I mean really adopted us. We tried to resist but Bob was there on our front doorstep for weeks until we finally gave in. When we brought him in he rushed for the cat bowl pushing aside our more demure kitty and started gobbling up the cat food like he owned the place–which he actually did from that point on.DSC_0087

Of course he chose the coziest and most elegant spot for his portrait. 😉

Author: Margaret Huntley Harrison

I’m a painter using my gifts to transform the seemingly ordinary into the beautiful and extraordinary. What I love more than anything is tracking down, creating, and spreading the beauty in our amazing world! And I LOVE helping you find and spread your beauty into your home, your family and your world. Art for sale: fineartamerica.com Margaret Huntley Harrison

Leave a Reply

