When to Abandon a Painting

IMG_1674It’s pretty much the human condition to think ” if I were God,  I would . . . ”  Fill in the blank _______ get rid of disease, get rid of evil, make life more fair, make bees not sting, lions not eat antelopes, butterflies and people not die . . .

I should know about knowing better than God.  I started  with a pretty strong will,  a generous dollop of “au contraire”  and “you’re not the boss of me” built into my DNA.   At some early age, I’m told,  I proudly proclaimed, pointing at an ovalish orb, “Water Tack!”

I  was corrected  with “water tank dear.”

My retort;  “Well, I call it WaterTack!”

Sometimes being strong willed has worked out for me, sometimes less than ideally.

But when I make art, I get to play God!

I am the God of my artwork--the CREATOR–the BOSS of my creation.  I can do it any way I please. I pick the colors, I pick the medium–I  can crumple it up, throw it away, paint over it.  I can even leave it as it is with it’s misfortunes and enjoy the hell out of it!

Some smart person once said ” a work of art is never finished, only abandoned.”

I get this.

At some point I consciously do have to say “STOP” to myself.

There’s the temptation to “make it even better”– often pointless, or .  .  .  worse.  That last tweak can be the one that unbalances the painting.

“This painting is working Margaret. Let it be,”  I often tell myself.  I also often violate my own rules.  😉

I LOVE violating rules.

Author: Margaret Huntley Harrison

I’m a painter using my gifts to transform the seemingly ordinary into the beautiful and extraordinary. What I love more than anything is tracking down, creating, and spreading the beauty in our amazing world! And I LOVE helping you find and spread your beauty into your home, your family and your world. Art for sale: fineartamerica.com Margaret Huntley Harrison

2 thoughts on “When to Abandon a Painting”

  1. Cool painting!! Yes! I love being the boss when I paint, making the decisions, choosing EVERYTHING! But, it’s strange…when things start to go wrong, I find myself saying “oh God, help me!”😜

  2. The same thing happens to me Jennifer! I love being the boss, but definitely cry out for help. This pic is one I painted over–all except for the woman nose and mouth. They are peeking out from behind a giant bouquet of flowers in a vase. 😉 I’m planning to come to your show at Angie’s on the 21st God willing and the creeks don’t rise. Will you have your new book?? 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

