This is one of those paintings that took me 10 years to paint

IMG_0219I mean the whole process from start to finish.

I took the picture at the beach about 10 years ago.

She’s the daughter of good friends we vacationed with for over 25 years at Pawleys Island, SC.

We would stay at the Sea View Inn with 5 or 6 other like-minded families who would come back every year on the same weekend–it was like a family reunion without the grudges–which is magical if you like that sort of thing.  I do . .

Ocean front–so close to the ocean that the roar of the waves could keep me awake listening for the next wave to crash, no TV, stiff breezes rushing through open windows instead of AC, virtually deserted beaches, 3 family style meals a day (each family had it’s own table), families playing games together or reading, bare feet everywhere, outside showers, big front porch with rockers for rocking, staring at the osprey and dolphins, and sleeping in the hammock.

I took this picture there.

I loved the photo and set it aside in my pile of pics that I love and want to paint someday.

The painting percolated in my mind for 10 years–not every minute, or every day, or every month; but at least every year as I have rifled through my precious pile of my favorite pictures, I would paint Catherine setting up her beach chair underneath the sun drenched umbrella– in my mind first this way, and then that way–scanning for the brush strokes, colors, painting style to capture the beauty I saw.

A month ago, it was time.  I painted lovely Catherine setting up her beach chair underneath the sun drenched umbrella on canvas.

And I LOVE it!

I look at it and I’m instantly back to that glorious hot July day on our lovely Pawleys Island.

Heaven for me.   😉

Author: Margaret Huntley Harrison

I’m a painter using my gifts to transform the seemingly ordinary into the beautiful and extraordinary. What I love more than anything is tracking down, creating, and spreading the beauty in our amazing world! And I LOVE helping you find and spread your beauty into your home, your family and your world. Art for sale: fineartamerica.com Margaret Huntley Harrison

2 thoughts on “This is one of those paintings that took me 10 years to paint”

Leave a Reply

