The “Before” part of the “Before and After”

DSC_0463Here is the “before” pic of the cabinet (dresser, armoire?) that I bought to hide (I mean store) all my art supplies.

I didn’t love the dark stain and very curly cue handles, and really liked the functional value of the inside storage ( big reveal of the inside storage painted and packed with art supplies in the very near future), and loved the challenge of a transforming it into something beautiful!! 

I’m almost finished–3 coats of paint, a little sanding for the shabby—now applying the wax for a little more of the chic.

I’ve taken a break from painting canvases for the last few weeks to do this project as well as get a little more organized in my home:

We did a very small remodel in the kitchen. Ok, so the “we” is the royal “we,” –one of my very favorite “we’s.”

I did hire some professional kitchen remodelers to knock out the 2 1/2 feet of wall and put in a quartz counter top with bar stools–to open up the kitchen to the living room and make a more space for burgeoning family.  🙂

I’m not altogether sure whether organizing is procrastinating . . . might be sometimes–not sure, but I know it is very satisfying and gives my right brain a break, which it much appreciates–I sometimes overload the poor right side.  😉

So I am “repurposing” this dresser–not sure I like the word “repurpose”–sounds pretentious, but there you have it.

You never know, however, one of the original owners could have used it to store art supplies.  It does have that super good vibe to it!!

Stay tuned to next week for the “after” part of the “before and after.”  ❤

Author: Margaret Huntley Harrison

I’m a painter using my gifts to transform the seemingly ordinary into the beautiful and extraordinary. What I love more than anything is tracking down, creating, and spreading the beauty in our amazing world! And I LOVE helping you find and spread your beauty into your home, your family and your world. Art for sale: fineartamerica.com Margaret Huntley Harrison

Leave a Reply

