Looking Over My shoulder: Work in Progress

DSC_0579When I began this piece I loosely sketched it while staring at a bowl of hydrangeas that I got at Lowes Foods just for this occasion.

I know I want this piece to be about yummy deep oranges, creamy light oranges, golds and greens of all shades.  I was recently in a friend’s home and the beautiful colors that I saw there resonated in my mind’s eye.

We need an imoge here of a pulsing mind eye 😉

I blocked in the perimeter with color, making sure to notice where the light was coming from, turned the glass bowl into a stripey vase and added some leaves to the interior.

It so fun for me to begin a painting all full of expectation and adventure and wondering how the paints will dance themselves onto the canvas.

Love being in this zone of the dancing paints.

There’s tons of work going on the background with little bowls of paint and brushes and washing paint brushes off to get clean colors and dabbing some colors together on the palette to create sumptuous new variations of colliding color.

And remembering the empty spaces and the grays to be a necessary foil to the color.

More progress next week. ❤

 

Author: Margaret Huntley Harrison

I’m a painter using my gifts to transform the seemingly ordinary into the beautiful and extraordinary. What I love more than anything is tracking down, creating, and spreading the beauty in our amazing world! And I LOVE helping you find and spread your beauty into your home, your family and your world. Art for sale: fineartamerica.com Margaret Huntley Harrison

Leave a Reply

