Looking Over My Shoulder-Part 2

Last week I showed you how, after loosely sketching this still life and deciding to use yummy deep oranges, creamy light oranges, golds and greens of all shades, I blocked in the perimeter with color, making sure to notice where the light was coming from. I turned the glass bowl from my still life into an orange and white stripey vase and added some leaves to the interior.

DSC_0579DSC_0583This week you’ll see how I have added grayish shadows to the

white part of the stripey vase,

as well as blue and purple shadows for the little white flowers hanging down over the big hydrangea leaf.

Then I painted this tangerine tulip and the little green leaves hanging over the side of the vase next to the tulip.

In the background I started adding depth to the the hydrangeas with little dabs of green orange, purple, and blue– also painted a few flower stems.

Next week another update.

I absolutely loved this one when I finished it.

BTW, I heard that tangerines, greens and blues are big this season–at least that what sis Joy told me as she pointed to a home decor mag cover. And if Sis says it, it must be true! 😉

 

Author: Margaret Huntley Harrison

I’m a painter using my gifts to transform the seemingly ordinary into the beautiful and extraordinary. What I love more than anything is tracking down, creating, and spreading the beauty in our amazing world! And I LOVE helping you find and spread your beauty into your home, your family and your world. Art for sale: fineartamerica.com Margaret Huntley Harrison

Leave a Reply

