Unapologetically Girly: Introducing my new Collection of paintings for sale “Girls Just Gotta Have Fun!”

DSC_0548
“Cool and Sassy”

Ok, so when I was growing up I was kind of a tomboy. I think Daddy wanted a boy first and he got me.  He loved me very much in spite of my “unfortunate” gender and took me fishing with him when I was 4 on Lake Holstein in Tennessee, later off the Myrtle Beach pier (the original) and Murrells Inlet, SC.

My Dad loved fishing so much that when that boy came along a year and a half later, he unwittingly turned him into a fisherman and boat captain by trade–I think Daddy thought he was going to be a lawyer or something–but after raising him on nothing but fishing and sailing and boating Daddy should have known that Bobby was not dreaming of being in a suit and tie at a desk job.

Now Bobby’s memories of fishing with Daddy are very different than mine–they are sprinkled with dour recollections of my Dad deciding to move as soon as the fishing got good. Bobby said Daddy had a little black fishing cloud over his head.

My experiences were different–I guess I got on board before Daddy got too sophisticated with the fish finder and stuff. You know sometimes simple IS better.  I remember one time at Murrells Inlet pulling in so many fish that I could hardly keep up –and catching the catch of my life–a 2 lb flounder!  If you’ve ever caught a flounder by trolling off the end of a John boat, you will know what I mean when I say that it feels like a dead weight!  I shrieked in panic sure that I had caught my line in the motor–there were lots of warnings about not getting my line tangled in the motor–and I was so thrilled when Daddy took the line and said it’s not tangled, you have a big flounder!!  Wow!   A girl can’t feel any prouder than that.

Maybe because of these early experiences with Daddy, I would enjoy playing with the boys as much or more than the girls–they seemed much more interesting–playing fort, learning to ride a bike, climbing trees, shooting baskets.  And I took on “manly” tasks such as mowing the lawn ( with our old fashioned push mower) and cleaning out the garage for my Dad.   I just glowed over my manly talents.

It was not until I got to high school and met my first really girly friend Diane, who was determined that I would be girly too–that I really attempted with any success the girly thing–that was fun also.

Boys starting kind of coming around and I enjoyed them as much as I ever did–I think it was they that had more different agendas–I just liked having lots of friends–girls and boys.

I drove an A-Model Ford to high school–which was not very girly, but very convenient for attracting the attention of  boys because it was always breaking down in the parking lot and I was needing constant rescue (girly?) especially when it rained and the distributer cap would get wet.

I was very proud that I knew how to double clutch in order to change gears and lift up the hood and turn off the gas while I was in class because otherwise the gas would leak out (girly?)

What does this have to do with being unapologetically girly?  Everything!  It’s in my ART that I feel unapologetically girly.  This is where I get into the zone of the softer side of me, the girly side, the yin to my more masculine yang.

This is where I explore beauty in what feels very feminine to me. This is where I get to be completely and totally me.  As girly as I want to be–responding to waves of inspiration, flowing, expressing, creating something with my own hands that may seen and enjoyed by others.  Maybe even LOVED by others.

That’s just how I roll–being girly and all and very much needing to paint a series of paintings that are all about being girly.  Unapologetically girly!!    Girls Just Gotta Have Fun!

DSC_0548
“Cool and Sassy”

Author: Margaret Huntley Harrison

I’m a painter using my gifts to transform the seemingly ordinary into the beautiful and extraordinary. What I love more than anything is tracking down, creating, and spreading the beauty in our amazing world! And I LOVE helping you find and spread your beauty into your home, your family and your world. Art for sale: fineartamerica.com Margaret Huntley Harrison

Leave a Reply

