How the ocean made me feel

DSC_0650You know that great feeling you get after you exercise really hard–that loosey, highish, zenful feeling of well being.

I used to think  swimming in the ocean was the only way to get that feeling!

When Bobby and Joy and I were around 6, 7, 8 and at the beach in the summer we would jump over the ocean waves gleefully shrieking a name for each wave according to it’s size and ferocity-Baby wave,  Granddaddy wave,  Mama wave, Daddy wave, Bobby wave, Poochy McGoochy wave!  It was loud splashy hilarious fun!

Later I went off to camp and noticed that I could get that good zenful feeling after swimming in the freezing mountain lake. So my 10 year old brain brilliantly deduced that swimming vigorously and bracingly in the water was what made me feel all alive and relaxed–it didn’t have to be the ocean–it could be a mountain lake as well.

Much later at the very ripe age of 26  I realized that the wonderful feelings of vitality and relaxation that I coveted were actually the result of hard exercise–and not necessarily in the water. Running 3 or 4 miles would do it–that is after you get over the part where you feel like you’re going to throw up pretty much at the 1/2 mile mark.

Ureeka!

I wish I could go back and tell my little self all about the secret of exercise endorphins–I think life may have been a lot better for my little anxious self who didn’t think of herself as athletic at all unless she was in the water in which case she felt like a very relaxed fish.

I had no words for these zenful feelings when I was younger–I just knew I was looking for something to give them to me.

Now I am full of words. 😉

And I love the feelings that I loved as a child just as much if not more!  And I still dial them up with hard exercise.

I also have learned another way to dial them up–

painting–

when I get lost

in color

challenging myself to make it look like something

and look like something beautiful all at the same time!!

I love you guys! ❤

 

 

Author: Margaret Huntley Harrison

I’m a painter using my gifts to transform the seemingly ordinary into the beautiful and extraordinary. What I love more than anything is tracking down, creating, and spreading the beauty in our amazing world! And I LOVE helping you find and spread your beauty into your home, your family and your world. Art for sale: fineartamerica.com Margaret Huntley Harrison

Leave a Reply

