Diana Herself by Martha Beck

03-2I was rebelling against writing last week because I just didn’t feel like it. Didn’t feel like I had anything to say AT ALL or that it was just too hard to say what I want to say–and it was the middle of June (nay end of June) and the lazies were setting in–which is a good thing–and I have confirmed with myself that they are a very necessary thing if I want to create beautiful things.

So I read a book by one of my favorite wise gurus–Martha Beck–the book is called Diana Herself and my favorite part is Diana’s relationship with an interestedly loving being–a fat little wild boar with wings named Myself.

Myself calls Diana (the main character) piglet, especially when she, Myself that is, is being particularly loving.

05-5I love the word piglet:  How it sounds when you say it–especially and even more so now that my grandson, Jack,  has discovered the word piglet, and discovered as well, that if he keeps saying “piglet” in his cute little 3 year old silly voice over and over again it pushes his Daddy’s buttons i.e. gets on his very last nerve!

This kind of thing is Turkish Delight for grandmothers: especially remembering the day when his Daddy was doing such to me.

Getting back, or getting forward as the case may be, to what the book Diana Herself has to do with my painting:   I really want to create, develop, refine, and am, in fact creating, developing and refining  my own inner flying Boar with the most loving, light hearted, secure, grounded, silly and with a marvelous sense of humor just like Myself. She will help me with everything , especially the difficult parts of painting and being an artist–which is mostly not the painting part, except when I’m stuck in which case she will help a lot.

The whole book is about being backwards and upside down which is the part that’s helping me the most, and of course developing my inner wild pig with wings.Hmmm.

It has something to do with what may look like being intentionally lazy–however it is simply waiting for my inner eternal self to direct my egoish body self to do what it wants it to do–in particular another series of gorgeous paintings.

I like to think that if we could all have an inner voice like Myself,  we would all be healed.

04 copy 4So I’ve been resting and waiting and imagining in my mind–painting in my mind this way and that–from a series of photos that I have taken of my gorgeous niece Meg with sunglasses and hats and adorable expressions and stylish poses.  It’s an adventure and I don’t know how it’s going to turn out. I hope beautifully. I may let you in on the process at some point.

 

 

Author: Margaret Huntley Harrison

I’m a painter using my gifts to transform the seemingly ordinary into the beautiful and extraordinary. What I love more than anything is tracking down, creating, and spreading the beauty in our amazing world! And I LOVE helping you find and spread your beauty into your home, your family and your world. Art for sale: fineartamerica.com Margaret Huntley Harrison

1 thought on “Diana Herself by Martha Beck”

  1. Oh I DO like the way you write…all upside down and topsy turvy just like you are describing!! And isn’t that the creative life??!! All upside down and this a-way and that a-way and every which a-way and oh I do want to do this but shouldn’t i be doing that? I love even the playfulness with which you talk about the lazies and the stuckness and just life in general. My own little Eeyore needs that playful piglet!! or boar…or butterfly…or wow isn’t it fun to think this way?? Love to you!

Leave a Reply

